Scripting, matcen > action

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
LEON
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Scripting, matcen > action

Post by LEON »

Sup folks

Im new to scripting. Have just made a few that works. Get a key to open a door, end level on either room enter or bot killed, and stuff.
What I can't figure though, is how to....like...when all bots from an matcen is spawned and killed---> open a door. Or, all matcen bots killed ---> end level.

Anyone?
Thanks

Leon
Kyouryuu
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Post by Kyouryuu »

It's been a really long time since I touched DALLAS.

I'm not sure if what you are asking is possible. In order to track the death of a given robot or robots, you have to give them individual names if I remember correctly. The problem with the Matcen is that it is spawning robots on-the-fly and therefore you can't name them.
LEON
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by LEON »

Ah, ok, thats some bad news.
Hmmm, I wanted to make a SP lvl where the main fokus was to fight bots. like, you enter a room, the door locks behind you, a matcen start to spawn bots, and when you have killed them all you get access to what ever you was looking for in that room, and the door opens again.
Maybe theres some other way around this, I dunno, if its possible to script the matcen (not the bots) so when its finish, then you get what ever effect you want.
Kyouryuu
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Post by Kyouryuu »

Maybe don't rely on a Matcen to do it?

Maybe look at how Proving Grounds set this up in Descent 3. I think in those situations, the boss robot was just there already, waiting for your arrival. Another potential option is that you can hide robots until you are ready to use them, IIRC.
LEON
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Post by LEON »

Matcens is kind a useless if you cant script them. They are just there.....but not part of the story!?