No starting from later, no title in-level, no exit sequence?

For Descent, Descent II and Descent3 level editing and modification assistance.
Naphtha
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

No starting from later, no title in-level, no exit sequence?

Post by Naphtha »

Hello, forumgoers! I'm new to the forum and still trying to find my way around after a couple days of lurking, so I hope I didn't miss an introductions thread somehow. I've been playing Descent since I was four and the game was brand new, but I'm really new to actual level design, which I thought I'd try out after conceptualizing a possible mission idea. But aside from difficulty with issues like lighting, I've run into some odd situations which I'm not sure are my mistakes or glitches in either DLE-XP or D1X-Rebirth. If anyone can help me figure out if I'm doing something wrong, I'd really appreciate it.

My mission, "The Outer Reaches," will hopefully be six missions when it's complete, but design-wise, it's currently a work in progress. The first two levels are already finished and playable, and I'm working on designing the third. But there's some minor weirdness that I can't seem to figure out, including the lack of an option to start from the second level when give the game a test-run. I've played through both levels before, but I still can only start from Level 1. Is it just because I'm still editing the mission at this point, or is something else to blame?

Even though I've named both levels in the mission descriptions of the level builder, the level titles do not show up in the automap or at the bonus score screen, so it would only read "Level 1: " and "Level 1 Complete: Destroyed!" I'm not sure what's causing it, because the level names are both saved into the mission description and I'm not sure if they needed to go somewhere else as well. Do they need to be saved to the other file types in the .HOG, or should just the .RDL files being named be enough?