* FAQ    * Search  * Register * Login 
Active topics
Unanswered topics

All times are UTC-06:00



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  1 2 3

What did you think of the level set?
Was an awesome ride!  71%  [ 17 ]
Very innovative level designs!  13%  [ 3 ]
Pretty solid mission pack!  4%  [ 1 ]
It'll have to do.  4%  [ 1 ]
It took a full year for this?  8%  [ 2 ]
Total votes : 24
Author Message
 Post subject: Descent Vignettes Release Thread!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:43 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
A fun 25 level + 2 secret level set that focuses mainly on strong, fast, challenging gameplay and a bunch of robots to blast! Each level centers around a central theme and doesn't deviate much from that theme. Furthermore, there is at least one room in each level where you can have a good all-out dogfight with a bunch of robots! Finally, the secret level exits are on level 11 and level 19. Leave the reactor room and search for newly opened areas once the reactor is blown to find these secret exits. Beware though, these secret levels are insanely rough! Enjoy the set!

Set Download:
http://www.enspiar.com/dmdb/viewMission.php?id=207

Program Download to play it:
http://www.descent2.de/ (download D2X-XL, make sure you read the installation guide properly from the left hand navigation bar menu on the site!)
This program still requires you have the original Descent 1 to operate it.

Screenshots:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

Comments, feedback are very welcome! Hope you all enjoy the set. Took over a year to make the darn thing! Thanks to all who helped out: Sirius, Pumo!
Everyone have fun!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:46 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:48 pm
Posts: 703
Website: http://www.pumosoftware.co.nr
WLM: digipumo@hotmail.com
Location: Mexico
Facebook: rubenpumo
Twitter: Pumo_Torbernite
YouTube: PumoTorbernite
This is really a good mission set, everyone should try it out!

BTW, Note it's a D1 set and it works on all Descent 1 versions (even the old 1.5 for DOS) ;)

_________________
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
Visit my Steam profile, and add me as friend if you want :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 4:08 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 770
ICQ: 28764031
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/gallery
Yahoo Messenger: shadow_hoof
AOL: Aether+Stallion
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
You actually can play this on XL without D1 installed, but it's not much of a game. :]


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 5:09 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:48 pm
Posts: 703
Website: http://www.pumosoftware.co.nr
WLM: digipumo@hotmail.com
Location: Mexico
Facebook: rubenpumo
Twitter: Pumo_Torbernite
YouTube: PumoTorbernite
Really?

Since this is a D1 mission AFAIK XL needs the D1 PIG and HOG files to read D1 texture data, or at least that's how it works on my side :?
Or do you mean you don't need to have D1 fully installed, but just the PIG/HOG data files?

Anyway, i've tested the set on D1X-Rebirth and it works great, so i think this shows it's designed for D1 and thus it requires D1 files >_>

_________________
[Pumo software main website] - Pumo Mines current progress: 60%
Visit my Steam profile, and add me as friend if you want :D


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:45 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 770
ICQ: 28764031
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/gallery
Yahoo Messenger: shadow_hoof
AOL: Aether+Stallion
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
It does. You can play it on XL with no textures, incorrect sound files and static robots without D1.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:54 am 
Offline
DBB Admiral
DBB Admiral
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 20, 2004 11:51 pm
Posts: 1520
Someone always has to be different. :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:49 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
I just reupdated the zip file. Apparently, vignettes as a word is one character longer than the original Descent 1 OR D1 Rebirth can handle. 9 character file names seem to blow the program's mind. But d2x-xl can handle this flawlessly. Regardless, the new zip file has the file names reduced down to 8 characters. But I'm sure the more perceptive of you have already done this yourself.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:19 am 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4193
ICQ: 6955979
Website: http://bubbalou.event3dstudios.com
Location: Dallas Texas USA
DarkFlameWolf wrote:
Program Download to play it:(download D2X-XL, make sure you read the installation guide properly from the left hand navigation bar menu on the site!)
This program still requires you have the original Descent 1 to operate it.


Seeing as you DFW are having so many issues with D2X-XL yourself. Not to mention the creator of D2X-XL told you to bugger off in regards to any support

Let's just direct everyone to http://www.dxx-rebirth.com where all you need is Descent to PLAY Descent!!

DarkFlameWolf wrote:
Apparently, vignettes as a word is one character longer than the original Descent 1 can handle. 9 character file names seem to blow the program's mind. But d2x-xl can handle this


Seriously does 8.3 mean anything to you...(creator of the editor)? Not to mention... if you are indeed able to use more than 8 characters then your are actually breaking compatibility..... Therefore logic dictates = flawed.

Next time be aware of your limitations of a game from 1993-94 and it's vignet~1

in this day and age you think even Autodesk would update the .3ds file format and material id name limitations. Actually why would they, it's a convention that maintains backward compatibility and the exporters give you a warning dialog in those cases. :idea:

Anyways: so far levels are ok, would be better if they were not so bright in Classic D1 placement and quantity of lights do not justify the brightness of certain rooms


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 3:52 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
no need to attack me for trying to do the community a favor by giving another 25+ level set to enjoy. And as for lighting and placement, I looked through the WYSIWYG feature of DMB2 with the shading turned on and used that as my basis for if a room/level was bright or dark enough to my personal standards. Beyond that, since my computer hates a lot of custom Descent engines except D2x-xl (and even that is questionable sometimes), I really have no other basis for lighting than the built in feature of DMB2 so I can see what I'm getting outside of what D2x-xl is going to give me.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:10 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:22 pm
Posts: 2
Not to fret the previous comment Wolf...there is an old saying \"those who can't do anything, complain about everything.\"
Speaking of the \"characters\"...I suggest our benefactor check webster's definition of
character and try to develop one.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:14 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Well, that was an interesting drive-by from someone who has apparently been lurking for four years. The plot thickens.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:51 pm 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4193
ICQ: 6955979
Website: http://bubbalou.event3dstudios.com
Location: Dallas Texas USA
ahh yes the plot does thicken... cheese puffs anyone, oh wait do you prefer...... Cheese DOODLE's?

Build it in devil next time! :)

why are the reactor doors placed directly in front of the reactor, takes all the fun out of actually going into the reactor room....

raydream studio anyone remember that program?

_________________

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:09 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 770
ICQ: 28764031
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/gallery
Yahoo Messenger: shadow_hoof
AOL: Aether+Stallion
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
There's no point in learning an obsolete editor to build levels for an old game. The best option is to use a newer version of D1X that'll work on recent operating systems to test, especially if trying to run it through D2X-XL gives you different lighting.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 5:50 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
Regardless, the discussion is moot anyway, its done, its released. Enjoy.
How'd you like it DH?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:50 am 
Offline
DBB Grand Master
DBB Grand Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 10332
Location: Earth
This thread reminds me of an old Cosby skit…A nut in every car, except it’s…A creep in every thread.

Don’t let the bastards get you down. (sorry, my Latin is rusty)

I wish I could see the missions, but I don’t play anymore.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:30 pm 
Offline
DBB Cadet
DBB Cadet

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 8:15 am
Posts: 13
Im still trying to slowly grind my way through enemy within......ill finish it....eventually....or run out of lives and patience from the hordes of robots that make left 4 dead look like a cakewalk :/

_________________
The BP Pilot.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:40 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
Vignettes is probably less punishing than Enemy Within is though. At least in my opinion it is.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:53 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
Same. It has its moments, but overall it is easier.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:02 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
Although level 17 is insanely hard unless you're smart enough to stay inside the 'observatory' and kill off all the robots before you venture out into the main hall. In fact, that is what you are supposed to do honestly. Utilize it to the fullest.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:24 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2000 3:01 am
Posts: 770
ICQ: 28764031
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/gallery
Yahoo Messenger: shadow_hoof
AOL: Aether+Stallion
Location: Waikare, New Zealand
I've yet to reinstall D1. Had a busy month so far.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:07 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 206
[/lurk]

I just finished \"Roundabout,\" and I must say, that's the most appropriate level title ever. The locked doors are a great simulation of the arcane right-of-way system, and even when you figure out which route to take, the matcens pump out some traffic to punish you for making progress.

Really good level set so far. It's been challenging, without being frustrating, and the themes give a nice structure to the progression of each level, without making them too predictable.

Keep up the good work!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Posts: 406
Location: Right Behind You
Got about halfway through so far, really enjoyable. Nice Job.

Side Note:I believe it's level 4 that has the exit tunnel that goes up through a room you already went through, and out a second exit?

In that level, lock the red door on the inside. I flew out the way I came in, and spent the whole countdown trying to figure out how to set off the trigger.

_________________
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
heh.. ya know, that nearly got me too. I noticed it before blowing the reactor. It's part of the exit tube. Both doors open when you blow the reactor and you go through the one in the reactor chamber. The exit sequence will take you out through that door as well. A nice touch taking your exit tunnel Through the levels! :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:16 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
I just checked, it is locked. Not sure what happened there.
And as for the exit tunnels, I tried my best to make each tunnel take you through 'some' part of the level 'somehow.'


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:05 am 
Offline
DBB Ghost Admin
DBB Ghost Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 05, 1998 12:01 pm
Posts: 12133
Website: http://www.tomandcatherine.com
Location: I'm so glad to be home
BUBBALOU wrote:
oh wait do you prefer...... Cheese DOODLE's?


They don't sell those in Gaffney, SC.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:09 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 206
Quote:
I just checked, it is locked. Not sure what happened there.


It's because you can destroy the reactor from outside the red door. You need to block the player's line of sight to the reactor to force him into the room. That said, cruising through the level during the exit sequence is a really cool effect.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 4:03 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Posts: 406
Location: Right Behind You
BlueFlames wrote:
Quote:
I just checked, it is locked. Not sure what happened there.


It's because you can destroy the reactor from outside the red door. You need to block the player's line of sight to the reactor to force him into the room. That said, cruising through the level during the exit sequence is a really cool effect.


Ya, I think that is what I did. The effect was *sweet* though. Reminded me a little of D3, but better. I liked the exit tunnel where it looped over the domed room too.

_________________
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:58 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
The domed room? Which level was this? Great Escape?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:33 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
yeah, level 4.

oh, one other thing. If you start the set over, you are not offered the option to start at \"X\" level; you start at level one each time.

I don't know if there's anything you can do about that, but just wanted to point it out. :)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:57 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Posts: 406
Location: Right Behind You
DarkFlameWolf wrote:
The domed room? Which level was this? Great Escape?

Yep, that's the name.

Duper wrote:
yeah, level 4.

oh, one other thing. If you start the set over, you are not offered the option to start at "X" level; you start at level one each time.

I don't know if there's anything you can do about that, but just wanted to point it out. :)


Were you using cheats? It doesn't unlock the new levels in that case.

_________________
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:30 pm 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
Duper wrote:
yeah, level 4.

oh, one other thing. If you start the set over, you are not offered the option to start at "X" level; you start at level one each time.

I don't know if there's anything you can do about that, but just wanted to point it out. :)


Don't know about that weirdness. Might be a bug in D2x-xl. Because I'm getting the same thing, but on ALL missions with that program.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:48 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
WHOOPS! I was playing through it again today and saw that the secret area in level 21 had NOTHING IN IT! So I popped in a smart and mega and all should be good. Redownload if you haven't gotten to that point yet so that stuff can help you out NOW.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:24 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:36 am
Posts: 406
Location: Right Behind You
The 'Start on level X' Works on D1X Rebirth, just tested it.

_________________
Amg! It's on every post and it WON'T GO AWAY!!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 11:41 pm 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 5426
ICQ: 28874658
Website: http://www.povterminal.net/
Location: Bellevue, WA
I recently reported this issue with D2X-XL, and it has since been resolved as \"fixed\".


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:00 pm 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 2:43 pm
Posts: 453
Website: http://www.hard-light.net
WLM: zzant0r@hotmail.com
AOL: zantor64
Location: Midwest United States
I found a bug. I cannot load my saved game of the Vignettes. I use D1X-Rebirth 0.55.1, and have not had this issue with countless other saves.

I play some, save, and return to the main menu. When I load, it says \"unable to load mission: 'Vignettes'\". I redownloaded and extracted the files, and I still get the same error. Any ideas?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:03 am 
Offline
DBB Ace
DBB Ace
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 206
Rename Vignettes.hog and Vignettes.msn to VIGNETTE.hog and VIGNETTE.msn respectively.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:43 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
redownload the latest version, not only did the file names get resolved to 8 characters, but there are numerous bug fixes too.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:27 am 
Offline
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 24, 1999 2:01 am
Posts: 4193
ICQ: 6955979
Website: http://bubbalou.event3dstudios.com
Location: Dallas Texas USA
Zantor wrote:
I found a bug.


Not a bug, 8.3 issue

_________________

I seem to have a better workout dodging your stupidity than attempting to grasp the weight of your intelligence.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:28 am 
Offline
DBB Master
DBB Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2001 3:01 am
Posts: 9205
WLM: biffski@yahoo.com
Location: Beaverton, Oregon USA
DarkFlameWolf wrote:
Duper wrote:
yeah, level 4.

oh, one other thing. If you start the set over, you are not offered the option to start at "X" level; you start at level one each time.

I don't know if there's anything you can do about that, but just wanted to point it out. :)


Don't know about that weirdness. Might be a bug in D2x-xl. Because I'm getting the same thing, but on ALL missions with that program.


sorry for the late reply. I just read over this again.

I use rebirth, not XL. I also don't have this problem playing through the original Descent levels. I'll try the revised set this weekend and give you an update. :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:40 am 
Offline
DBB Captain
DBB Captain
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:21 pm
Posts: 983
AOL: DarkFlameWolfie
Location: Lousiana
I just got an PM from a player using rebirth saying that the level select works fine for them.
Anyway, there is also some confusion as to how to get the weapons in the supply cache behind the reactor in secret level 1, well, here's the solution:
You CAN'T get those power-ups as long as the reactor is active and in working condition. Blow up the reactor and then look towards the doors to the left and right of the exit door just below the reactor. You can access that cache area from there. But you have roughly 45 seconds to get anything you need and want from there and still exit out alive. So you may want to save before blowing reactor and keep reloading and exploring until you found the perfect route through the supply cache to get the main 'prime' items and exit. Because there is NO WAY you can get every single item in that supply cache before the mine explodes. So you need to pick and choose the best items to get in the time alotted. Cool?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  1 2 3

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Descent'rs have piloted these pages
 
The layout and contents contained within this site are © DescentBB.net 1997-2006.
Descent, Descent II are © Parallax Software Corporation.
Descent III is Outrage Entertainment.
Descent is a Trademark of Interplay Productions.

Miner Wars™ is trademark of Keen Software House s. r. o.
.


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group