Calling all mathmaticians

Pyro Pilots Lounge. For all topics *not* covered in other DBB forums.

Moderators: fliptw, roid

S13driftAZ
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Calling all mathmaticians

Post by S13driftAZ »

If you hold a glass of water under a tap water faucet/soda fountain/what have you, and you motion the cup up and down, closer and farther from where you are getting the liquid from, will it fill your cup faster than if you just hold it still?
Gooberman
DBB Alumni
DBB Alumni

Post by Gooberman »

It depends how close you are to c.
snoopy
DBB Benefactor
DBB Benefactor

Post by snoopy »

I'm an engineer, so I'll tackle it from my perspective:

The amount of liquid coming out of the tap is constant, no matter what you do with the cup.

So, the only way it'd make a difference is if it had an effect on the amount that splashed out.

Other than that, the higher the cup, the earlier the last bit of water will be in it.
Spidey
DBB Grand Master
DBB Grand Master

Post by Spidey »

Lol, if you hold a glass of water under a tap, it won’t matter what you do with the glass, because it’s already a “glass of water”…
Drakona
DBB Captain
DBB Captain

Post by Drakona »

If, and only if, when you finish moving the cup, it is closer to the faucet than when you started.

Do you stay drier if you run through the rain?
ccb056
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral

Re:

Post by ccb056 »

snoopy wrote:I'm an engineer, so I'll tackle it from my perspective:

The amount of liquid coming out of the tap is constant, no matter what you do with the cup.

So, the only way it'd make a difference is if it had an effect on the amount that splashed out.

Other than that, the higher the cup, the earlier the last bit of water will be in it.
Snoopy, not entirely true.