Linux Debian question.

For system help, all hardware / software topics NOTE: use Coders Corner for all coders topics.

Moderators: Krom, Grendel

TigerRaptor
DBB Fleet Admiral
DBB Fleet Admiral

Linux Debian question.

Post by TigerRaptor »

I've been using Linux Mint for a while now along side Windows 10. Think I'm ready to take off the training wheels and expand my knowledge. Would Debian be the next logical choice?
vision
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender

Re: Linux Debian question.

Post by vision »

TigerRaptorFX wrote: Fri Jun 12, 2020 10:16 pmWould Debian be the next logical choice?
No? I depends on what you want to do. I've been using Mint as my main OS on-and-off for about 10 years. Mint, like all other modern Linux distros, are practically hands-free at this point. Even when I first started using Linux it didn't require a lot "working under the hood." Usually if I had a problem I could follow a forum thread or tutorial, copy/paste some code into the terminal, and be on my way (I did this just yesterday to fix the weather applet, which stopped working. I found the solution, copied a singe command into the terminal, which updated a single line of code in the applet. Done).

What are your goals with Linux? Server administration? Programming? Penetration testing? Using Linux is a fun and sometimes frustrating hobby. You'll always run into a problem that needs fixing!