Looking for a D3 server host

A place to deal with D3 servers, server issues, server listings, etc. Home Page

Moderators: Do_Checkor, Starken

Lady Silver
DBB Ace
DBB Ace

Looking for a D3 server host

Post by Lady Silver »

As some of you know, I have been organizing various Descent 3 team games for a few months now.

RIP Foil has been kind enough to host them for me. However, his servers are also being used as a host for other games, particularly on Friday nights, which is when I have chosen to organize the D3 matches. So we have run into some issues recently with loss and whatnot.

Is there anyone here (preferably in America or Canada) who would be willing to host two D3 servers for us either every, or every other Friday night?

I would love to find someone who can host servers with 16+ players smoothly, in large levels like Polaris and Geodomes. But if not, I would be grateful for anything smooth with 10 - 12 players in smaller levels like Halcyon and Seleg Prime.

Can anyone here help?

Or do you know anyone I can contact who might help?

Thank you for your consideration!

Lady Silver
Foil
DBB Material Defender
DBB Material Defender

Re: Looking for a D3 server host

Post by Foil »

If you don't get any volunteers, I can set up D3 servers on my home connection.

I have more bandwidth and cpu on my home connect than the [RIP] server... but I don't like doing that, because if I end up playing, I have a 1-2ms ping, and it doesn't feel right to have that much advantage.

(I'm also slightly hesitant because a few years ago, I got hit with bot/DDoS attacks at home from a disgruntled player when I was hosting D3 games, which was a huge pain to deal with.)
Krom
DBB Database Master
DBB Database Master
Location: Camping the energy center. BTW, did you know you can have up to 100 characters in this location box?

Post by Krom »